The Sacred Duty of Education

teacher's desk

To learn is one of the most noble pursuits of man. To increase one’s knowledge is synonymous to increasing one’s self worth, as least in a secular mode of thought. Value determines relationships, careers, and happiness. Knowledge is a foundation for where one goes in life and will ultimately determine the person one becomes.  Where beauty and physical prowess fade and wither, an education, if oiled and kept in good repair, will last longer than any other human capacity.
So knowledge remains the most valuable stock in the market economy. It will always return, but not always in a pecuniary manner. I am thus obligated to be a giant sponge, and let scores of teachers swarm me, some who have degrees and work in schools, and others less formal. Some I call my mentors, others my friends and families, and many my flaws.
The ethereal manner of some of my teachers remind me of shades, and they dress in gauzy costumes and dance like leaves who haven’t been told it’s not autumn. They entrance me with beautiful colors and show me hidden alcoves where fish and denizens flash in pristine pools. Their innocent natures deceive me and I watch as their pretty faces stretch into wolfish fiends as their jaws begin to tear at my soul. They are my mistakes and flaws, and I fend them off limply with a flyswatter.
In the end, whether my teachers bring me joy or bring me pain, I must invite them into the forum of my thought’s, where receptors in my conscious carefully sift facts and truths into a receptacle for later use. I dare not dismiss any of them; the ones I despise teach me the hardest lessons. Besides, it is my sacred duty to listen.

Leave a Reply

